Nearly every battery projector on sale in the United States this November promises about 2.5 hours, and nearly every one of those promises comes with the same condition: Eco mode. That is the setting that dims the picture to stretch the charge. So the useful question isn’t how long a projector lasts. It is how long it lasts at a brightness you’d want to watch, and how easily you can top it up.
We checked current prices and went through the manufacturer’s footnotes for the seven models below on November 3, 2026. Where a company doesn’t state the condition, or doesn’t state a runtime at all, we say so.
| Projector | Price | Rated brightness | Battery | Rated video runtime |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dangbei Freedo | $439 | 450 ISO | About 60Wh | 2.5 hours, Eco |
| XGIMI MoGo 4 | $479 | 450 ISO | 71.28Wh | 2.5 hours, Eco |
| Nebula Capsule 3 | $399.99 | 200 ANSI | Not compared | 2.5 hours, Eco |
| Nebula Mars 3 Air | $519.99 | 400 ANSI | Not compared | 2.5 hours, mode not stated |
| Nebula Mars 3 | $899.99 | 1,000 ANSI | 185Wh | 5 hours, mode not stated |
| BenQ GV50 | $649 | 500 ANSI | Built in | No figure found |
| Aurzen ZIP Pro | $629.99 | 200 ANSI | 38Wh | 150 minutes, Eco |
Dangbei Freedo: the one with numbers outside Eco mode
Price: $439 on Amazon and at Dangbei’s own US store. The Freedo is our first pick because independent testing backs up its rating and goes further. New Atlas matched the published 2.5 hours in Eco at 30% volume, then got a little under two hours in standard mode. Few portables in this group have a figure like that to point to, and it means a full-length film at normal brightness is within reach on one charge.
Battery efficiency is the reason. Laurent Willen’s review measured about 45 watts at full brightness and about 18 watts in Eco, from a battery of around 60Wh. The MoGo 4 needs 71.28Wh to carry the same 2.5-hour rating at the same 450 ISO lumens. The Freedo also recharges from a 65W USB-C power bank, so a spare bank in a bag can extend a camping night without a bulky dock.
The rest suits travel as well: native 1080p, Google TV with licensed Netflix, a built-in gimbal stand and a weight of about 3 pounds. Amazon buyers give it 4.2 stars from 144 ratings. Its limit is the one every 450-lumen machine shares, which is that dusk isn’t dark enough. Wait until the sky has properly gone.
XGIMI MoGo 4: the best route to five hours under $1,000
Price: $479 on Amazon and at XGIMI, down from a $499 list. The MoGo 4 matches the Freedo on brightness, Google TV and licensed Netflix, and adds 12 watts of Harman Kardon audio. XGIMI is upfront in its footnotes that 2.5 hours applies to Eco mode.
Its advantage is the optional PowerBase Stand, which doubles the rated time to five hours. That is a separate purchase. Amazon also sells a MoGo 4 Laser kit with the PowerBase, a portable screen and a case for $749, which is a tidy package for anyone building an outdoor setup from nothing. Buyers rate the MoGo 4 at 4.1 stars from 244 ratings.
Nebula Capsule 3: the most buyers, and the smallest body with Netflix
Price: $399.99 on Amazon. At about 0.85 kg, the Capsule 3 is the lightest machine here that runs licensed Netflix, and with 4.3 stars from 7,180 ratings it has far more owner feedback than anything else on this list. Nebula’s listing states the Eco condition for its 2.5 hours.
The catch is 200 ANSI lumens, less than half the Freedo’s rated output at $39 less. We looked at its software and app complaints last month, and those are worth reading before you buy. It makes most sense for hotel rooms and bedrooms, where it is dark and small matters more than bright.
Nebula Mars 3 Air: more light in a carry-handle body
Price: $519.99 on Amazon. With 400 ANSI lumens, 1080p, Google TV and dual 8-watt Dolby Audio speakers, the Mars 3 Air sits between the Capsule and its larger sibling. Its listing promises up to 2.5 hours without naming a mode, so assume Eco until shown otherwise. At 4.2 stars from 316 ratings it is a solid choice, though it costs about $80 more than the Freedo for slightly less rated light.
Nebula Mars 3: the only real all-nighter
Price: $899.99 on Amazon. This is a different class of machine. A 185Wh battery gives a rated five hours from a projector that claims 1,000 ANSI lumens, and it can charge your phone as well. It adds 40 watts of Dolby Digital Plus sound, IPX3 water resistance and 0.5-meter drop resistance. Buyers give it 4.4 stars from 359 ratings.
Dividing battery by rated time gives about 37 watts, the highest draw here and consistent with a machine that is working harder for its light. It runs Android TV 11 rather than Google TV, and its size makes it something you carry to a campsite rather than slip into a backpack. For backyard screenings without an extension cord, nothing else on this list comes close.
BenQ GV50: a laser engine and a missing number
Price: $649 on Amazon. BenQ’s US spec sheet lists a built-in battery, 500 ANSI lumens from a laser light source and Google TV, at 2.1 kg. It doesn’t state a runtime, and neither do the feature bullets on its Amazon page. It is the only laser model here, with 98% Rec.709 color, and we have covered its USB-C input as a strength for iPhone owners. But a battery projector without a published battery figure is hard to recommend on that basis. Buy it for the picture, and plan on staying near an outlet until you have timed it yourself.
Aurzen ZIP Pro: the pocket option, with no apps
Price: $629.99 at Aurzen, now that the $579.99 early-bird rate has ended. The tri-fold ZIP Pro is the most portable design on this list, and the only one where the battery figure tells a clear story: 38Wh for 150 minutes in Eco works out to about 15 watts. That efficiency comes from a low target of 200 ANSI lumens.
Aurzen says plainly that it has no built-in smart TV system or streaming apps, and warns that DRM can block services such as Netflix over wireless casting. Its strength is the wired USB-C video input, which suits a Steam Deck or Switch. Treat it as a pocket display for your own devices. We found the older ZIP on Amazon at $399.99, rated for 1.5 hours and 3.8 stars from 109 ratings, which is harder to justify.
What the footnotes mean for your movie night
Battery figures don’t convert neatly into viewing time, but the pattern is clear. Standard mode costs a large part of the claimed runtime, and full brightness costs more. The Hisense P1, on sale in Europe but not the US, is the extreme example: its 2.5-hour rating applies at 300 lumens, and one French test got about 45 minutes at full output.
Check three things before you buy. Look for the mode behind the runtime claim. Make sure the projector can charge while it plays, because USB-C power delivery from a 65W bank turns a two-hour limit into a question of what’s in your bag. And check whether Netflix is licensed, because casting from a phone is the first thing DRM can block.
If you are rarely far from an outlet, you may not need a battery at all. The Dangbei N2 mini has none, but costs $199 with native 1080p and licensed Netflix, and our outdoor guide and wider portable list cover more plug-in options.